Residential overview

  1. Home
  2. /
  3. Program Criteria
  4. /
  5. Residential overview

The Silver Residential criteria launched in July 2006. In 2009, the program began offering an additional tier, Gold tier, which provides a higher standard for water efficiency and includes water-quality best management practices. More than 5,000 residences have been certified under the residential criteria.

The qualifications points list for new and existing homes outline all the criteria that are considered during final inspection. These documents should be used for any project seeking certification. The points list can be used as a navigation tool for the technical manual. Click on a criterion in the points list PDF and you will be linked to the web page for that topic/criterion.

Florida-Friendly Landscaping partnership

In early 2014, Florida Water Star began partnering with the Florida-Friendly Landscaping™ recognition program. Florida Water Star-certified homes that achieve the additional recognition add value to the home and contribute to a more sustainable approach by reducing the need for fertilizers and pesticides, adding plant diversity and enhancing the water-saving capability of the landscape. Once achieved, the Florida-Friendly criteria can be submitted for review by experts at the University of Florida Center for Landscape Conservation and Ecology. Contact Claire Lewis at for additional information.

typical FWS house